Photographer's Note

2.36 metres tall and 0.76 metres across the arms, this granite cross is sometimes referred to as the Cross on Wigford Down, on Dartmoor.
Also known as the Cadover Cross, it is one of a number of crosses erected to mark the route of the track, that the monks of the Priory at Plympton would have used to visit their outlying parishes of Meavy and Sampford Spiney, on their way to Tavistock Abbey.

In 1873, the original section of the cross was found lying flat on the ground by a number of soldiers who were on an exercise.
At the request of the vicar of Shaugh Prior, the soldiers took the time and effort to re-erect the cross at the spot at which it lay.
By 1901, the cross had fallen once again and lay on the ground for some years until it was re-discovered by the Rev.H.Hugh Breton.After some careful work and strengthening it was raised once again.

(For further information about the crosses on Dartmoor, visit www.dartmoor-crosses.org.uk/)

Unsure just which category to put this in? Is it architecture? Artwork? Ruins?

Thank you for looking.

pajaran, Graal has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Jean Dwyer (jean113) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 2386 W: 0 N: 7387] (28349)
  • Genre:
  • Medium:
  • Date Taken: 2015-06-24
  • Categories:
  • Camera: Panasonic Lumix TZ30
  • Exposure: f/4, 1/1000
  • More Photo Info: view
  • :
  • Date Submitted: 2015-07-06 13:46
Viewed: 913
Points: 18
Discussions
Additional Photos by Jean Dwyer (jean113) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 2386 W: 0 N: 7387] (28349)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH