Photographer's Note

The park was originally part of a commercial site unsuccessful housing, the idea of Count Eusebi Gell, which the park was named after. It was inspired by the English Garden City circulationD'o the original English name Park (in Catalan language spoken in Catalonia, where Barcelona is located, the word "park" is "Park" and the name of the place is " Park Gell "in its original language). The site was a rocky hill with little vegetation and few trees, called Montaa Pelada (Bare Mountain). It already included a large country house called House or Larrard Muntaner de Dalt Villa, and was next to a neighborhood of homes of the upper class called La Salud. The intention was to exploit the fresh air (away from smoky factories) and beautiful views of the site, with sixty triangular lot is planned for luxury homes. Count Eusebi Gell added to the prestige of the development by moving in 1906 to live in Larrard House. Ultimately, only two houses were built, neither designed by Gaudi. One was intended to be a home theater, but to be completed in 1904 has been sold, and as no buyers came forward, Gaudi, Gell's suggestion, bought with his savings and moved with his family and his father in 1906.
(Wikipedia)

Theme Nouvel an Barcelone

Photo Information
Viewed: 2281
Points: 24
Discussions
Additional Photos by Valerie Leconte (Leconte) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 716 W: 58 N: 1031] (5795)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH