Photographer's Note

This lovely palace is now an Museum.
The Museum Condes de Castro Guimares, the former "Torre de S. Sebastio", was built in 1900 by Jorge O'Neill. A classic example of "summer architecture", the building features ecletic elements, inviting visitors to enter a kingdom of fantasy and wonder celebrated in this XIXth century revival of the era of romance.

In 1910, the Count Manuel de Castro Guimares aquires the house and after is dead (1927) donated his state, including his garden, to the people of Cascais. His desire was to built an art museum and a public library. The museum opened on July 12, 1931.

The Museum Condes de Castro Guimares collection includes significant national and international paintings, furniture, porcelain and jewellery. Another important part of museum collection is the Crnica de El-Rei D. afonso Henriques (Chronicle of King Afonso Henriques) (1505) by Duarte Galvo, whose Prologue page includes artwork by the miniaturistAntnio d'Ollanda.

All Rights Reserved: KIKS Copyright . Use in any form of our photo is forbidden without the written permission of the photographer.
Please contact: [email protected]

Periko, ikeharel, cornejo, rychem, ourania has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: kik ko (kiks) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1482 W: 160 N: 1682] (12805)
  • Genre:
  • Medium:
  • Date Taken: 2015-04-23
  • Categories:
  • Camera: Sony DSC RX100M3
  • Exposure: 1/74
  • :
  • Date Submitted: 2016-04-07 13:46
Viewed: 1758
Points: 30
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by kik ko (kiks) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1482 W: 160 N: 1682] (12805)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH