Photographer's Note

Church of San Francesco - Giano dellUmbria (PG)

The monumental complex of San Francesco is located in the center of Giano dellUmbria, close to the walls at the entrance to the castle.
It was built in the second half of the 13th century, but was the subject of numerous renovations, which however did not completely compromise the interpretation of the primitive church.
Dedicated to the holy founder of the mendicant orders, the plan initially followed the directives expressed by the Franciscan rule with a single nave, trussed roof and extreme decorative simplicity.
The rigor of the primitive building was altered in the seventeenth century, when the perimeter walls were raised and the roof rebuilt, which was then covered with a brick vault in 1909.
The exterior, in pink ashlars with a gabled roof, has an elevated facade with respect to the original and decorated with a buffered oculus and a recessed portal.
The rooms of the convent open on the right, among which the former refectory environment stands out.
The whole structure is already documented in the thirteenth century.
The interior of the church has a single nave and has a typical layout of the buildings of the Franciscan mendicant orders.
There are seven wooden altars from the 18th century, three on each side on the side walls and the main one, embellished with scagliola frontals, from the Tuscan school, painted with floral motifs and surmounted by valuable canvases.

Fis2, ikeharel, pierrefonds, PiotrF, COSTANTINO, PaulVDV, mcmtanyel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 20245 W: 130 N: 42674] (224211)
  • Genre:
  • Medium:
  • Date Taken: 2022-07-28
  • Exposure: f/0.1, 30
  • :
  • Date Submitted: 2022-07-31 0:40
Viewed: 0
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 20245 W: 130 N: 42674] (224211)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH