Photographer's Note

The original Chania lighthouse was built by the Venetians in 1570 to protect the harbor. A chain could be connected from the base of the lighthouse to the fortress of Firkas in order to close the harbor. During the Turkish Ottoman the lighthouse fell into disrepair and was eventually rebuilt between 1824 and 1832 in the form of a minaret. The modern lighthouse is often referred to as ' Egyptian' because it was built during a time where Crete was occupied by Egyptian troops who were supporting the weakening Ottoman Empire against the rebellious Cretans. The base of the lighthouse is still the original Venetian base although the Lion of St. Marc which was carved there has long gone. The 'Egyptian' lighthouse was leaning badly due to bombings during WWII and earthquakes but it was extensively renovated in 2005 and now looks as good as new. The lighthouse has a height of 21m, height from sea surface 26m and its light reaches a distance of 7 miles (from www.westcrete.com).

bj40, kordinator has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2100
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ecmel Erlat (ecmel) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 131 W: 0 N: 262] (1782)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH