Photographer's Note

Chateau Le Fy Esneux was built in 1904-1905 by Paul Saintenoy, internationally renowned architect, Jean-Edouard-Jules Van Parys, son of Ernest Solvay. Occupied by the German army at the death of its owner (1915), then in 1923 became the property of Francis Paul Lefebvre, an engineer in China, he was again requisitioned during the Second World War. It is classified as a monument from the 1st April 1986.
Abandoned in 1964, the castle became property of the Municipality of Esneux in 1982. This monument was inscribed on the Danger List of the Walloon Heritage Institute in 1999 to find him an assignment. In 2004, a private investor has acquired the property.
The goal of restoration is ultimately restore the shell closed the entire building and ensure the conservation of the interior of the castle.

delpeoples, Cretense has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 16756
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by john vantighem (john1) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 385 W: 0 N: 531] (4028)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH